The church is rarely visited by tourists, although it is surely worth attention. Not very many historic buildings in Warsaw survived WW2 destruction, this church is a unique example of modern architecture of industrial era of 19th century which used new technologies of construction and modern materials.
The Warsaw Reformed Protestants registered their congregation on the juridical ground of Leszno, in 1776. The next year, the modest new church was consecrated (today it houses the Warsaw Chamber Opera, located behind the current church). The construction of the church, as seen today, began on 30th October, 1866. The building had been designed in the neo-gothic style – with the use of cast-iron, a very popular building material at the time – by Adolf Loewe, a renowned Warsaw architect and a member of the congregation. On account of the enormous costs of the enterprise, the whole building process lasted 14 years.
The active development of congregational life was interrupted and repressed by the outbreak of World War II. The time of German occupation was the most turbulent and the hardest in the history of the Warsaw Reformed congregation and its city. Many parish members were actively involved in the September campaign of 1939 and, later, in the resistance and conspiracy movement
The Jewish Ghetto was established in the direct neighbourhood of the parish buildings, surrounding the buildings in a kind of walled enclave. This made it possible for our parish members and pastors to help ghetto inhabitants on the so called Arian side, for example: to provide them with false documents and personal papers issued by the parish office.
The parish buildings on Leszno Street (today Solidarity Av.), the two church attachments and the presbytery with the centrally placed wooden preaching pulpit (never reconstructed again) were burnt down. However, the rest of the church survived, together with the church tower – at that time the tallest in the city – but marked with gun shots and prepared by the Nazi soldiers to be blown up.